• Home


There is a Secretariat for the Samithy and a State Animator. The 32 dioceses of the Catholic Church in Kerala are grouped into 7 Regions: Trivandrum, Kottayam, Alappuzha, Ernakulum, Trichur, Kozhikode, and Thalasseri.

There was three Secretariat and one General Body Meeting held in the current year to discuss and plan out various Anti-alcohol activities. KCBC constituted a commission in 1998 with the slogan ‘Alcohol free Church and Society’. For implementing this noble prophetic mission the Samithy has been functioning in all the dioceses in Kerala.  In the current year several activities were reduced due to the Covid -19 pandemic.

Temperance Commission has its basic pattern of Triple formula of activities to attain its goal. First, the demand reduction that is through various awareness programmes. Second, supply reduction which includes non-violent forms of agitation to persuade the Government to reduce the production and distribution of Alcohol. Third, risk deduction by treating the addicts to change and improve in order to bring them to a new life through medical, psychological spiritual and social counseling and support. These activities are organized in Parish, Forane, Dioceses, Regional and State levels.